This dialog is called from the Catalog menu. It includes 3 sections, a Properties top section a middle section with 3 further expanding options and a bottom section with controls/buttons etc. The basic form is as shown here:
The Presets list allows the user to load/save and maintain lists of saved settings. From v8.5, the metadata (only) aspects of a saved preset can be applied to existing records via the Presets palette. Using saved presets can be a real time-saver if you need different settings for different tasks. Here is the list popped open showing several named, saved sets:
The edit list simply show all the saved sets. Sadly there's no option (yet!) to export/import sets so as to make them transportable between catalogues.
Portfolio allows you to add further information to all added Items - as they are catalogued - in addition to the information in the original file. Ticking this section shows a panel with three tabs allowing data to be added to the Description field,...
..and all custom fields
Note that values applied via this method are applied to all items in the current cataloguing action.
Use the Description text box to insert up to 32,000 characters of text which will be inserted into the 'Description' Field of each Item.
Keywords can be added in 2 ways. If there are entries in the Master Keywords List pane (blank in this example) then highlight a desired entry and click the 'Assign' button. Repeat as required to add multiple keywords. Alternatively, use the Item Keywords box to enter new keywords and click the 'Add' button to add to the list of keywords to be added. The list of keywords to be added during cataloguing is show in the bottom left pane. To remove an unwanted item, highlight the entry and click the 'Remove' button.
To add data to a Custom Field, select it and click the 'Edit' button. A Field value can then be set. If the Field is set to use a pre-defined list, a drop-down list will be shown in the Edit dialog.
If information inserted from this dialog and there is information for the same target Fields obtained from the original file, the decision of whether to merge or overwrite the original file data is determined by the setting in the Properties tab of the Advanced Cataloging Options dialog.
Files can be copied or moved entirely to a new location as they are archived, the new location being the one held in the Catalogue's Record. The target location must be accessible to the computer on which Portfolio is running.
This offers, on the fly whilst cataloguing, the same features as can be applied via the Batch Rename dialog. The choices for each section are:
In the bottom section, the 'Advanced' button opens the Advanced Cataloging Options dialog. The 'Clear All' button will clear all inputs from the Cataloging Option dialog. The 'Don't show when cataloging' tick box (blank by default) causes this dialog not to be shown when adding files to a Catalogue (also set via Preferences). Although the dialog is not shown, any information set in the Cataloging Options is still applied to the new Records.
Question: Cataloging Options dialog (v7) [FAQ00076.htm]
Last Update:- 18 September 2007
Site and articles © Mark Anderson 2001-2007 - Visit my home page