Note: to save Galleries you will need to be logged on at Publisher or Administrator level.
When the contents or layout of saved Gallery is altered its 'dirty' state is indicated in the Gallery's caption bar with an asterisk. An example is shown in the screen shot below (asterisk highlighted in red): -
If the Gallery is maximised the Gallery name now appears in the main Portfolio program's caption bar. Following the example above, the program caption bar would read:
Portfolio - [TEST.FDB - subset *]
Again, you can see the asterisk indicating the 'dirty', i.e. unsaved status of the Gallery. Any Gallery with an asterisk which you close will trigger Portfolio to ask to whether you wish to save or discard the changes. Even quite subtle changes to the Gallery can set the 'dirty' flag, leaving you to wonder just what you have done to cause this. One common example of this is if you alter the 'Saved Options' of a saved Gallery and click OK. you may think you have saved the Gallery - but look again, there's the asterisk! In fact, the options are not saved until you perform a Save operation (Ctrl+S) on the Gallery. All in all, rather unintuitive.
Question: How do I tell if a Gallery is changed but not yet saved? [FAQ00097.htm]
Last Update:- 31 May 2006
Site and articles © Mark Anderson 2001-2007 - Visit my home page